Sunrise Birding, LLC - Birding and Wildlife Tours
Sunrise Birding LLC
Birding & Wildlife Tours

Upcoming Tours

Peninsular Malaysia
July 31-Aug 12, 2020
>Info & reservations

Brazil: Pantanal
Wildlife Safari plus Jardim
Sept 6-9/19,2020
>Info & reservations

Lesvos: Fall Migration
Sept 26-Oct 3,2020
>Info & reservations

Chile: Condors, Penguins & Pumas
Oct 10-20, 2020
>Info & reservations

Argentina: Valdes & the South
Oct 12-31, 2020
>Info & reservations

Jamaica: 29 Endemics
Dec 3-9, 2020
>Info & reservations

Serbia: Long-eared Owl Spectacle
January 11-19, 2021
>Info & reservations

Japan: Winter Specialties
February 5-16, 2021
>Info & reservations

Guatemala Easy!
February 13-19, 2021
>Info & reservations

Northwest Argentina
with Eduardo Patrial
February 13-28, 2021
>Info & reservations

Morocco:
Sahara to Atlantic

March 21-31, 2021
>Info & reservations

Lesvos: Spring Migration Magic!
April 16-23, 2021
>Info & reservations

Colombia: Specialties of Mitú
May TBA 2021
>Info & reservations

Bulgaria: Spring in the Balkans
May 5-14, 2021
>Info & reservations

Finland: Owls, Grouse & more!
May 21-27, 2021
>Info & reservations

Norway: Lapland & Varanger
May 27-June 3, 2021
>Info & reservations

Mongolia: The Pristine Frontier of Asia
June 5-18, 2021
Info soon!

Galapagos
July 25-Aug 1, 2021
Info soon!

Borneo: Sabah
Plus Borneo Rainforest Lodge
Aug 29-Sep 12, 2021
>Info & reservations

Bolivia
October 2021
Info soon!

Chile: Birds & Wine
November 7-18, 2021
>Info & reservations

New Zealand:
Islands of Endemics

Nov 9-29, 2021
>Info & reservations

More being added!



Sunrise Birding LLC
Birding & Wildlife Tours

Upcoming Tours

Peninsular Malaysia
July 31-Aug 12, 2020
>Info & reservations

Brazil: Pantanal
Wildlife Safari plus Jardim
Sept 6-9/19,2020
>Info & reservations

Lesvos: Fall Migration
Sept 26-Oct 3,2020
>Info & reservations

Chile: Condors, Penguins & Pumas
Oct 10-20, 2020
>Info & reservations

Argentina: Valdes & the South
Oct 12-31, 2020
>Info & reservations

Jamaica: 29 Endemics
Dec 3-9, 2020
>Info & reservations

Serbia: Long-eared Owl Spectacle
January 11-19, 2021
>Info & reservations

Japan: Winter Specialties
February 5-16, 2021
>Info & reservations

Guatemala Easy!
February 13-19, 2021
>Info & reservations

Northwest Argentina
with Eduardo Patrial
February 13-28, 2021
>Info & reservations

Morocco:
Sahara to Atlantic

March 21-31, 2021
>Info & reservations

Lesvos: Spring Migration Magic!
April 16-23, 2021
>Info & reservations

Colombia: Specialties of Mitú
May TBA 2021
>Info & reservations

Bulgaria: Spring in the Balkans
May 5-14, 2021
>Info & reservations

Finland: Owls, Grouse & more!
May 21-27, 2021
>Info & reservations

Norway: Lapland & Varanger
May 27-June 3, 2021
>Info & reservations

Mongolia: The Pristine Frontier of Asia
June 5-18, 2021
Info soon!

Galapagos
July 25-Aug 1, 2021
Info soon!

Borneo: Sabah
Plus Borneo Rainforest Lodge
Aug 29-Sep 12, 2021
>Info & reservations

Bolivia
October 2021
Info soon!

Chile: Birds & Wine
November 7-18, 2021
>Info & reservations

New Zealand:
Islands of Endemics

Nov 9-29, 2021
>Info & reservations

More being added!



Sunrise Birding LLC
Birding & Wildlife Tours

Upcoming Tours

Peninsular Malaysia
July 31-Aug 12, 2020
>Info & reservations

Brazil: Pantanal
Wildlife Safari plus Jardim
Sept 6-9/19,2020
>Info & reservations

Lesvos: Fall Migration
Sept 26-Oct 3,2020
>Info & reservations

Chile: Condors, Penguins & Pumas
Oct 10-20, 2020
>Info & reservations

Argentina: Valdes & the South
Oct 12-31, 2020
>Info & reservations

Jamaica: 29 Endemics
Dec 3-9, 2020
>Info & reservations

Serbia: Long-eared Owl Spectacle
January 11-19, 2021
>Info & reservations

Japan: Winter Specialties
February 5-16, 2021
>Info & reservations

Guatemala Easy!
February 13-19, 2021
>Info & reservations

Northwest Argentina
with Eduardo Patrial
February 13-28, 2021
>Info & reservations

Morocco:
Sahara to Atlantic

March 21-31, 2021
>Info & reservations

Lesvos: Spring Migration Magic!
April 16-23, 2021
>Info & reservations

Colombia: Specialties of Mitú
May TBA 2021
>Info & reservations

Bulgaria: Spring in the Balkans
May 5-14, 2021
>Info & reservations

Finland: Owls, Grouse & more!
May 21-27, 2021
>Info & reservations

Norway: Lapland & Varanger
May 27-June 3, 2021
>Info & reservations

Mongolia: The Pristine Frontier of Asia
June 5-18, 2021
Info soon!

Galapagos
July 25-Aug 1, 2021
Info soon!

Borneo: Sabah
Plus Borneo Rainforest Lodge
Aug 29-Sep 12, 2021
>Info & reservations

Bolivia
October 2021
Info soon!

Chile: Birds & Wine
November 7-18, 2021
>Info & reservations

New Zealand:
Islands of Endemics

Nov 9-29, 2021
>Info & reservations

More being added!



Sunrise Birding LLC
Birding & Wildlife Tours

Upcoming Tours

Peninsular Malaysia
July 31-Aug 12, 2020
>Info & reservations

Brazil: Pantanal
Wildlife Safari plus Jardim
Sept 6-9/19,2020
>Info & reservations

Lesvos: Fall Migration
Sept 26-Oct 3,2020
>Info & reservations

Chile: Condors, Penguins & Pumas
Oct 10-20, 2020
>Info & reservations

Argentina: Valdes & the South
Oct 12-31, 2020
>Info & reservations

Jamaica: 29 Endemics
Dec 3-9, 2020
>Info & reservations

Serbia: Long-eared Owl Spectacle
January 11-19, 2021
>Info & reservations

Japan: Winter Specialties
February 5-16, 2021
>Info & reservations

Guatemala Easy!
February 13-19, 2021
>Info & reservations

Northwest Argentina
with Eduardo Patrial
February 13-28, 2021
>Info & reservations

Morocco:
Sahara to Atlantic

March 21-31, 2021
>Info & reservations

Lesvos: Spring Migration Magic!
April 16-23, 2021
>Info & reservations

Colombia: Specialties of Mitú
May TBA 2021
>Info & reservations

Bulgaria: Spring in the Balkans
May 5-14, 2021
>Info & reservations

Finland: Owls, Grouse & more!
May 21-27, 2021
>Info & reservations

Norway: Lapland & Varanger
May 27-June 3, 2021
>Info & reservations

Mongolia: The Pristine Frontier of Asia
June 5-18, 2021
Info soon!

Galapagos
July 25-Aug 1, 2021
Info soon!

Borneo: Sabah
Plus Borneo Rainforest Lodge
Aug 29-Sep 12, 2021
>Info & reservations

Bolivia
October 2021
Info soon!

Chile: Birds & Wine
November 7-18, 2021
>Info & reservations

New Zealand:
Islands of Endemics

Nov 9-29, 2021
>Info & reservations

More being added!


 

Home  |  Tours  Reports  |  News  |  Calendar  |  Team  |  Links  |  Contact  Talks Email List

2019: Sunrise Birding Year End Review

Sailing in ChileOh, what a year!!!
As we reflect on Sunrise Birding’s highlights of 2019, it feels as though the entire year has been a highlight. From the Moai of Easter Island, to the Jaguars of the Pantanal, to the seabirds of New Zealand, we’ve enjoyed another extraordinary, successful year thanks to our wonderful clients, our superb ground agents, our professional Sunrise Birding guides, and our expert local guides around the world. It is with gratitude that I present our annual review of the year below.

Gray Noddy. Easter Island 2019

Thank you all for making 2019 our best year yet!

Good Birding,
Gina Nichol & the Sunrise Birding team!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For the latest on tours and availability,
see our list of upcoming tours>

To get regular updates from Sunrise Birding,
please join our eNews list>

To be part of our online community,
please like and follow us on Facebook>

 

Photos: Sailing on Reloncavi Sound to look for Pincoya Storm Petrel,
Central Chile Tour, January 2019
Grey Noddy / Grey Ternlet, Easter Island Chile Tour, January 2019


Magellanic Woodpecker by Gina Nichol.2019: Our Year in Review

In January, guides Gina Nichol and Steve Bird took a group to CENTRAL CHILE with our good friend and top local guide Claudio Vidal. Highlights included incredibly close Inca Terns, the amazing Diademed Sandpiper-Plover, very obliging Magellanic Woodpeckers, and a fabulous pelagic that ended with a wine celebration, all against the backdrop of spectacular scenery. Some of us continued on the post tour extension to Rapa Nui (Easter Island) where the famous stone statues (Moai) were a source of wonderment as were some special seabirds including Phoenix, Herald and Kermadic Petrels, Christmas Shearwater, and we had great views of Gray Noddy.

Central Chile Photos & Report>

Moai on Easter Island. Photo by Gina Nichol


Snowcap by Frank Mantlik.In February, Frank Mantlik took a group on our COSTA RICA SPECIAL which featured the stunning Resplendent Quetzal every day in the highlands, and the beautiful Snowcap (Photo: Frank Mantlik) among the 18 species of Hummingbirds seen on the tour.

Costa Rica Photos & Report (pdf)>

 




Roadrunner by Steve Bird. Meanwhile, Gina and Steve were leading a tour in BAJA CALIFORNIA SUR in Mexico to look for endemic birds and cetaceans against the backdrop of wonderful desert scenery and the Sea of Cortez. Highlights included close encounters with Whale Sharks and Gray Whales in the sea, Roadrunner, Belding’s Yellowthroat, and Grey Thrasher in the lowlands, and San Lucas Robin in the highlands. Xantus’s Hummingbird put on a show as did the Mobula Rays jumping out of the water. A night on the Isle Espiritu Santo was an adventure and the old world town of Todos Santos was a favorite for many.

Baja Photos & Report>




Mobula Rays, Baja California by Gina Nichol.


Jamaican Tody by John KricherIn late February, Frank Gallo took a group to JAMAICA and under the direction of top local guide Ricardo Miller (and beloved driver, Andrew), our group saw Jamaican Tody (Photo: John Kricher), Jamaican Lizard-Cuckoo, Jamaican Owl and in fact all 29 Jamaican endemics!

Jamaica Photos & Report (pdf)>

 




In March, Gina and Steve and our good friend Diego Calderon birded the white sands region of Mitú in COLOMBIA. We saw an incredible variety of birds including Collared Puffbird, Striated Antthrush, Guianan Cock-of-the-Rock, Red-fan Parrot, Chestnut-belted Gnateater, and Imeri Warbling Antbird to name a few. The local people were wonderfully friendly and the hotel staff could never do enough for us. We definitely felt like we were part of their family after just a few days. Our tour included areas near Bogotá where we saw some specialties including Apolinar’s Wren, Bogota Rail, Blue-throated Starfrontlet, Green-bearded Helmetcrest, and Golden-bellied Starfrontlet.

Colombia Photos & Report>



Enthusiastic Guides!


Bee Hummingbird by Frank Gallo.In late March, Frank Gallo headed south to CUBA with a group to experience this small country’s delightful culture and birds. The trip quickly turned into another endemic extravaganza. We found 25 Cuban endemic bird species and had incredible views of all of them as well as many other regional specialties. Superb sightings included the diminutive Bee Hummingbird (Photo: Frank Gallo), amazing views of Cuban Tody and Cuban Trogons – real eye candy, and all 4 of Cuba’s Quail-Doves, Ruddy, Gray-fronted, Blue-headed, and Key West! We also had wonderful looks at the rare and elusive Gundlach’s Hawk, Cuban Palm Crow, Cuban Nightjar, and a pair of Bare-legged Owls peering out of a nest hole. Both Cuban Parakeets and Parrots gave us a show near Bermejas, and Zapata Wren and Zapata Sparrow couldn’t have been more cooperative.

Cuba Photos & Report>


In April, Dan Berard led our AMAZON CRUISE on the luxury Zafiro in Peru. Eye candy here included Hoatzin, Capped Heron, Plum-throated Cotinga (Photo: Dan Berard), Horned Screamer, Amazonian Umbrellabirds, Pink and Gray River Dolphins and more.

Plum-throated Cotinga by Dan Berard

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amazon Cruise Photos & Report (pdf)>

 


Later in April, Gina and Steve returned to our beloved LESVOS for Gina’s 10th trip and Steve’s 20th trip to this charming Greek island. The fields of flowers were particularly stunning this year and made the island even more beautiful. Highlights of the tour were the much adored Hoopoe, the rare Broad-billed Sandpiper, Flamingos, Black Kite, Scops and Little Owls, Great Spotted Cuckoo, the Ouzo, the food and the great hospitality of our extended family in our hotel.

Lesvos Photos & Report>


Photo: Whinchat by Gina Nichol.

Immediately after the Sunrise Birding tour, we hosted Naturalist Journeys on Lesvos for their inaugural tour. They fell in love with the island too and will be back with us in April 2020.


Red Knots and Dunlin In May, Gina and Steve met up with Holly Merker for our DELAWARE: Shorebird Spectacular. The congregations of shorebirds were indeed remarkable with numbers in the tens of thousands. We logged 17 Species of shorebirds and enjoyed them at several sites on the Delaware Bay. There were a few Red Knots and Dunlin but Semipalmated Sandpiper was the most numerous shorebird hands down!  With spring migration in full swing, we noted several species of warblers and Blue Grosbeaks everywhere!

Delaware Photos & Report>




Shorebirds at Slaugther Beach


Chestnut-eared AracariIn July, Gina and Steve led a tour to one of our favorite places, BRAZIL’s Pantanal. Under the expert direction of our friend and guide Eduardo Patrial, we named this tour the "Who has more fun than us? NOBODY!" tour.

Highlights were, of course, the Jaguars as well as Hyacinth Macaws, incredible views of Yellow-faced Parrots, Rheas displaying, Toco Toucans, Macaws of all colors, a Crane Hawk hunting, flocks of Chestnut-eared Aracari, Yellow Anaconda, Tapir, Giant Otters, fabulous boat trips and more.

 

Pantanal Photos & Report>



Jaguar and caiman video>



Boat trips in the Pantanal are always productive!


Most of the group continued on our Jardim da Amazonia lodge extension and enjoyed good views of Cone-billed Tanager as well as Blue-and-yellow Macaw, Small-billed Tinamou, Red-necked Aracari, Black-faced Antbird, Elegant Woodcreeper, Gould’s Toucanet and Gray’s Monk Saki Monkeys.

Ocellated Antbird by Dan Berard.
Jardim Photos & Report>


In August, Dan Berard led two back-to-back trips to PANAMA to help the Canopy family celebrate their 20th year. The first one to the CANOPY TOWER boasted Potoos, all of the kingfishers, Black-and-white Owl, Keel-billed Toucan, Ocellated Antbird (Photo: Dan Berard), an army ant swarm, and many colorful, tropical birds!

Canopy Tower Photos & Report (pdf)>

 


Harpy Eagle by Dan Berard. The second tour to CANOPY CAMP featured the Harpy Eagle chick (Photo: Dan Berard) along with such delights as Sapphire-throated Hummingbird, Royal Flycatcher, Bare-crowned Antbird, Red-capped Manakin, and being tattooed by the Umbara Tribe!

Canopy Camp Photos & Report (pdf)>

 


In August, Gina and Steve attended the British Bird Fair where we met our guides from around the world and caught up with several of our clients. Gina’s lecture on birding in Lesvos was once again well attended and well-received.

 

Scarlet-rumped Trogon by Gina Nichol.Right after the Bird Fair, Gina and Steve headed to BORNEO for our tour in Sabah. Our inaugural tour here was a great success and introduced us to a country full of fascinating wildlife! With the help of our fantastic local guide, Lee Chung, we found many of Borneo’s special birds and endemics, as well as an amazing 33 species of mammal including Orangutan. We also saw the extraordinary Colugo, Giant Flying Squirrels, and the strange looking Proboscis Monkey, Rafflesia flowerand the largest flower in the world, the unique Rafflesia. Night forays found us Leopard Cat, Blyth’s and Large Frogmouths and we were delighted by colorful Pittas, ALL EIGHT species of Hornbill including: Rhinoceros, Helmeted, White-crowned & Bushy-crested, Scarlet-rumped Trogon, Broadbills, Bee-eaters, Kingfishers and scores of other colorful and amazing birds. We are looking forward to going back to Sabah in 2021

Borneo Photos & Report>

Whitehead's Broadbill.
Whitehead's Broadbill.
Orangutan by Gina Nichol.

Lemon-striped ThreadtailIn September, Tom Bird and Dennis Paulson led our first every PANAMA, Dragonflies & Nature tour. This unique tour saw close to 100 species of Odonata, 300 species of bird and other amazing wildlife that made the trip very special. There were numerous highlights that included finding several species of dragonflies not previously recorded in Panama like the Lemon-striped Threadtail (Photo: Tom Bird) and Williamson’s Firetail and, of course, seeing a Harpy Eagle in the Darien was a massive highlight for most of the group.

Panama Photos & Report (pdf)>

 



Chestnut-capped Puffbird by Steve Bird. In October, Gina and Steve were invited to tour the lodges of the Amazon Conservation Association with an eye to developing birding tours along the world famous Manu Road in Peru.  We found the lodges to be very comfortable, the local guides amazing, and surrounding habitats to be more accessible than ever and full of birds!  Thanks to James Adams and the ACA for this incredible opportunity. Stay tuned for a new Southern Peru tour to include the world famous Manu Road and the Macaw clay licks of Tambopata with an extension to Machu Picchu! 

Peru Photos & Report>

Chestnut-capped Puffbird by Steve Bird.

 


In October, guides extraordinaire Leon Moore and Diego Calderon led our tour to GUYANA. As of this writing the report is still pending but highlights included Sun Parakeet, Long-tailed Potoo, and many others! Photos & Report coming soon> Meanwhile, enjoy this video taken of a Sun Parakeet on the tour!


Sun Parakeet, Guyana by Diego Calderon


In November, Gina and Steve traveled to NEW ZEALAND for Sunrise Birding’s inaugural journey to this remote, fascinating country. We set out to explore the intriguing and unique fauna of this isolated country and found many of the world’s rarest endemic bird species. Our exploration took us to the North, South and Stewart Islands against the backdrop of the breathtaking scenery of the majestic glaciers, rushing rivers, rolling grasslands, and rugged coastlines of this stunning country. Our results were record setting, according to our incredibly knowledgeable local guide, with a stunning 164 species seen (plus one heard, the Great Spotted Kiwi). We recorded all 5 species of the emblematic Kiwi, seeing four out of the five, saw all three penguin species, saw throngs of seabirds and shorebirds, had great views of the unique forest birds of New Zealand, and found a handful of rare vagrants. It was, in a word, epic! We’ll be heading back to New Zealand in 2021

New Zealand Photos & Report>

Watching the show on our Stewart Island pelagic in New Zealand.
Photos: Takahe, Watching the show on our Steward Island pelagic in New Zealand.


In addition to tours around the world, our local Connecticut guides Frank Mantlik and Frank Gallo offered a selection of birds walks and field trips throughout the year. We also attended and exhibited at the Massachusetts Birders Meeting and the Connecticut Ornithological Association Annual Meeting and Gina gave talks at the Ralph T Waterman Bird Club and Hartford Audubon Society.


As you can see it was a very busy, fantastic year for Sunrise Birding. Thank you again to everyone who participated in our tours and programs. We wish you all the best in 2020 and hope our paths cross again soon! Best wishes for good health, happiness and much birding in 2020!

Gina and the Sunrise Birding Team!

Southern Royal Albatrosses. New Zealand.
Southern Royal Albatrosses. New Zealand.


For more information, contact Gina Nichol at [email protected] or call 203.453.6724. 
TOURS>          TRIP REPORTS>

To register for a tour, use the Registration form.


© Sunrise Birding.  All rights reserved.
All photos by Gina Nichol unless otherwise noted.
Contact Gina Nichol at [email protected]